Ridin’ solo

I know a lot of people thrive on group rides, but I really prefer to ride solo. Here’s why:

1. I can ride whatever pace I want. Some days you pack up your stuff thinking you’re going to do one pace, and once you get riding your body has other plans. Like today. So no one has to wait for me and vice versa.

2. I like meeting single-serve riding buddies. Unless they’re awesome and turn into regular riding buddies of course. You never know who you’ll end up meeting- a company CEO, friend of a friend, or some cool old guy who has ridden all over the world. If you don’t like them all you have to say is “Have a great ride!” and speed up.

3. I come up with a lot of great ideas on solo rides. Unfortunately, most of these ideas relate to work and requires stopping occasionally to put a note in my phone. Seriously!

4. I can stop and pick marion berries whenever I see a ripe bush. Only applies to late summer rides though 🙂

Leave a Reply

