Seattle…ugh….

We’ve lived here for just over 8 years now, and to be honest I don’t know how I’ve made it this long without losing my mind.  I know some of you are rolling your eyes but I am dead serious.

Seattle really knows how to drag a girl down.

Ever wonder how we ended up here in the first place? We were living in Bakersfield, CA which is also known as the armpit of the country. No exaggeration- it’s in the central valley and wins the “most polluted city” award every year on Yahoo!  The pollution is due to the hot dusty climate, agricultural by-products and geography.  Within a couple weeks of moving there I broke out in a bad rash and the doctor said it was probably due to the pollution.  Ugh.  While Bakersfield’s central location was great (think national parks every single weekend), there were a lot of reasons to move out.  In March 2003 Eric had a conference up in Seattle, so I thought it would be cool to tag along and check out the city. I seriously thought everyone wore yellow rain slickers like the Morton Salt girl! As the plane was landing I could see trees, mountains and blue sky…it was such a contrast from dry and brown Bakersfield. Of course it was sunny that weekend…and I was sold. 5 months later Eric was offered a job with Eddie Bauer and the rest is history.

Alright, back to why I’m on the verge of a meltdown. Here are the top two reasons why Seattle is dragging me down, in no particular order:

1. Cost of living. If you lived here and bought real estate before 2000 you have no clue how expensive Seattle is. If you work for Microsoft or Amazon you have no clue either. Those of us who make an average income and don’t get ridiculous stock options or bonuses are the bottom feeders. Seattle is a city of “haves” and “have-nots”.  To live in a decent neighborhood we are looking at a minimum of $450K for a house, and that is probably a top-to-bottom cosmetic fixer upper with a dumpy neighbor that doesn’t take care of their shit. To buy something that is up to our not-overly-high standards, $550K and up.  I am NOT paying almost a half million dollars for a piece of crap house.

2. Weather.  Ever-optimistic Seattle residents alway say “But the summers make it all worthwhile”.  I swear if I hear that again I’m going to beat someone. Locals don’t understand what it’s like to have an honest to goodness, May-September summer. And no, two weeks of 78-degree weather in late August doesn’t make up for 10 months of rain. I am a warm weather girl. I love sun and heat and know that I will NEVER get that here. This makes me quite sad actually.

Now you’re probably thinking, so what are you going to do about it? Well, unfortunately not much. Both of us are in good jobs and it would be difficult for us to move. I always keep my fingers crossed that an opportunity will come up though…

*Sigh*

 

Leave a Reply

