8 months

Next week Baby A will be eight months old.

Crazy, right? What’s even crazier is the fact that this post is a week early. I figure if I start writing now I might actually finish by the 24th. I’m finally getting the hang of this time management thing!

Back to subject at hand. Eight months. If you were one of the people who told me babies grow up way too fast…you were right. Amelia seems to be turning into a little girl right before our eyes. So many changes in the last month- upgraded from infant seat to a convertible one, hair growing in, babbling (“mmmmammma”), eating finger foods and just today, scooting across the floor on her belly.

One thing hasn’t changed though- her personality. Amelia is such a sweet, happy baby. When we pick her up from daycare she’s the only kid not crying. Ha!

This is definitely a bittersweet time for me. I’m already on an emotional roller coaster with working mom problems and all of these changes are making me feel extra guilty. Like I’m missing out on something. I enjoy working and I enjoy being a mom but hate being a working mom. There’s no way you can give 100% to both so things start slipping through the cracks. Like forgetting something important at work. Or leaving baby in PJs because you have a morning meeting and are already running late. Ugh. I was recently approached by a startup on LinkedIn which was pretty exciting, but honestly the amount of work required was a complete turnoff. I have new priorities and working extra hard for 3 years is not one of them, at least not right now.

Another thing that’s falling through the cracks is my 100-mile MTB race. I simply don’t have enough time to train for it. Well, that’s not entirely true- I’d really rather spend my time with Amelia than be gone for four hours on a rainy Saturday. Again, new priorities. I’m about 75% sure I’m not going to race. We’ll see. Not only am I lacking motivation but also abdominal strength. This darn diastasis issue is really giving me some grief and I’m beginning to think it’s a losing battle. I finally got on the mountain bike (first time in a year) but apparently climbing singletrack on a 27lb bike was too much for my core. I hope it didn’t cause a relapse.

Ok, enough writing for tonight. All the people who said “Sleep when the baby sleeps” were also right and I rarely take their advice :/

‘Till next month.

20140219-231841.jpg

Leave a Reply

