Somewhere between 10 and 11 months…

Wow, I’m a little behind. The last month or so has been packed with business trips, visits from both sets of parents and a couple unexpected disruptions, including a hospital stay (more on that later). I am mentally and physically exhausted.

No rest for the weary though. Amelia is more rambunctious than ever which means constant supervision. She is a lightning-fast crawler and if you aren’t watching she’ll make a beeline for the DVD player (to play with the drawer), Little Bird’s cage or anything else that she probably shouldn’t be playing with. A couple weeks ago she upped the game by pulling herself up to standing. Now she pulls herself up on everything– the couch, fireplace, bathtub, toilet, window sills, etc. Time for baby-proofing round 2. I predict that she’ll be walking before she turns one.

All this hustle and bustle has made the days and weeks fly by. Every once in a while I’ll look at old pictures on our iPad and it hits me just how fast she’s growing up. I miss the newborn days but it’s been fun watching Amelia bloom into a soon-to-be-toddler. It’s neat to see the excitement on her face when she learns how doors work, or when she tries a new food for the first time. I don’t have much experience with babies but I feel like she is rather independent- she plays by herself nicely and doesn’t cling except when she needs something (or when she’s sick) . I guess that’s good but I wish she would snuggle more! Our only real snuggling happens in the morning, and even then it doesn’t last long- she wants to get down on the floor and play. She’s got places to go and things to do!  There is a lot of babbling going on right now too, both the soft, breathy kind and the loud exclamations. She’s making strong “ma” and “da” sounds and at times we wonder if she’s trying to say “duck” (she has a LOT of duck toys). Amelia is looking less and less like a baby and more like a little girl, especially when she’s standing.  I’m still going to call her “Baby A” as much as I can because “Toddler A” doesn’t have the same ring to it J

Health-wise she’s doing great…except for all the dumb ear infections she keeps getting. I am SO done with them. Not only does it suck to see Baby A in pain, but administering Tylenol and antibiotics might suck even more (for everyone involved). Picture a writhing, screaming baby that spits out the medication like a fountain. Ugh.  I have an idea for prisons- instead of letting inmates raise kittens and crap, make them give oral medications to babies. That would be cruel and unusual punishment for sure!  I am really against the constant stream of antibiotics so I’m going to ask her pediatrician if we can get tubes. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Baby A developed her latest raging double-ear infection a couple weeks ago. I scheduled a follow-up later in the week and it seemed that her ears were improving. However…the doctor said Amelia’s lungs sounded raspy and decided to check her oxygen level. It was quite low so we tried a nebulizer treatment which didn’t do anything. The doctor was so worried that she said we needed to go to the hospital…in an ambulance. Wait, what? I feel like I’m pretty observant and didn’t think that Amelia was in distress (beyond her ear infection symptoms). I’ll chalk that up as my first “bad parent” lesson. So, we were transferred to Swedish and spent 3 days/2 nights there. It sucked. I was extremely sick with bronchitis and could barely function. The room only had space for one person to sleep so I opted to stay both nights…and got maybe 6 hours of sleep total. Amelia kept rolling around and getting tangled in wires, which pulled off sensors and tripped the alarms, which brought in the nurses and maybe something extra like nose suctioning. Baby A was totally defeated that first night, I felt so bad for her. But thanks to the miracle of modern medicine she is back on her feet (literally) and back to her silly self. I am grateful that she “only” had pneumonia; I can’t even imagine how hard it would be to deal with a child’s chronic illness. My heart goes out to families that are in the hospital on a regular basis. Poor kiddos…and parents.

As luck would have it, Amelia and I are now healthy but Eric just came down with Strep. Ugh! If it’s not one thing it’s another. If you’re sick then you can’t do anything, and if your spouse is sick you have to pull double-duty. Seriously, all I wanted to do was go for a walk tonight. Not gonna happen.  Amelia was also exposed to chicken pox at daycare…I am really hoping that she didn’t contract it- that’s the last thing we need right now. I think she can get the vaccine at her 12-month checkup.

Well, that’s it for today. Keep an eye out for the first-year recap…whenever I get around to it 🙂

Making a mess!

Making a mess!

Leave a Reply

