Poet and didn’t know it

Deep dish pizza leader of the World,
Paczki maker, Home of Wrigley Field
Creator of the Chicago Dog and purveyor of Italian beef sandwiches;
Flat, windy, bustling
City of the Abraham Family
They tell me you are damn cold and I believe them, for I have seen the gigantic fur-trimmed arctic parka and winter boots that our friend Jamie owns.

And they tell me that you have a lot of fun things to do and I answer: we are looking forward to paddling Lake Michigan, camping, racing the Iceman and the 3-day Southside Polish Festival.

And they tell me that our families will be within driving distance and I say: Yes, it is true and we can’t wait to be a part of weddings, birthdays and holidays without using all of our PTO.

And having answered I turn once more to those who sneer at this our new city, and I give them back the sneer and say to them:
Come and show me another Midwest city with a thriving job market and fun things to do and is close to family.

We’re excited that our new home will be the deep dish pizza leader of the world, paczki maker, home of Wrigley Field, creator of the Chicago Dog and purveyor of Italian beef sandwiches.

 

Leave a Reply

