17 Months

It just occurred to me that AKA hit the 17-month mark almost two weeks ago. I didn’t even think about it until someone at the grocery store inquired about AKA’s age.

The last month has been pretty great.  AKA’s been sleeping through the night (for most part) and let me tell you, that really sets the tone in our house. Every once in a while she has a sleepless night and then we are wrecked for the next day or so. Even a missed nap sucks…that’s one less hour for me to work or get things done around the house. I kind of miss the one day/week daycare situation but can’t justify the cost. So for now my only escape is the gym, which is turning out to be a lifesaver- the childcare center is awesome and can be used for up to 2 hours/day. Of course you have to stay on site but our gym has a great lounge where I can work on the laptop and also a day spa. Not a bad gig I guess.

The highlight of the last month was definitely our “girl’s trip” to Seattle.  I obviously have a lot of availability right now (not the same thing as free time, mind you!) and had entertained the idea of a Seattle trip for several months. However, the thought of travelling solo with a lively toddler scared the crap out of me. So when E told me he was planning on a week-long business trip I figured it was now or never. And you know what? We had a great time. Dealing with the car seat was a pain, and everything took longer than planned (when doesn’t it with a kid?) but overall it was a good experience. I wouldn’t call the actual travel part fun, but a week in Seattle with friends made it all worthwhile.

Now we’re headed into the holiday season- my favorite time of year! AKA has been inundated with the sights, smells and sounds of Christmas and is taking everything in stride. We had to scale back the decorations this year but that’s OK, our house still looks festive even with a mostly-empty tree. We haven’t done Santa photos yet…I have a feeling that AKA isn’t going to be very cooperative. She’d better be good because I know Santa is bringing her some nice gifts this year!

Other than the Seattle trip and holiday preparations, not much else is new. AKA hasn’t changed much either- no new words this month and still as silly as ever.  I guess one thing is new (and slightly annoying)- climbing on the couch. I’m sure it’s a ton of fun for her but adds more strain to my already watchful eye. I thought the Christmas tree would be a problem too, but so far she’s hasn’t shown much interest except for a few disappearing ornaments.  One of AKA’s favorite things to do right now (besides climbing on the couch) is throwing things in the trash. Thankfully she only does this upon request, and we are trying to teach her the difference between trash and recycling…we have a long way to go with that…

‘Till next month.

photo (1)

Giving Santa a high five!

Leave a Reply

