CCC #4- Randall Oaks

So yeah, my last two races didn’t go so well…and I was not feeling very optimistic about the rest of the season. Thankfully I went into a “rest week” which gave me time to focus on other things going on in my life at the moment. I even skimped on my easy rides. My coach said that I might feel crummy coming off a rest week though. Great, just what I need- another crummy race! Needless to say my expectations for Randall Oaks were pretty low.

We had family in town last weekend, and I wasn’t about to subject them to hours of standing around so I went to the race by myself. Actually this was kind of nice as I didn’t have to pack a carload of kid stuff and I could listen to something other than Caspar Babypants on the drive 🙂

Randall Oaks was a new venue for 2015 since Carpenter Park was unavailable. Part of me was happy for the change since I thought Carpenter Park was boring but on the other hand I wondered if the new venue would be any better. I think all the racers were pleasantly surprised- the course was awesome!! It wasn’t technical but had long, sweeping downhills and fun turns. And a run-up, which we don’t have enough of here (in my opinion).

It’s taken me several races to realize that the official blows the whistle the second she’s out of the way, so I wasn’t caught off guard this time 🙂  We took off and I actually sat in second for a short while. About 3/4 of the way through the first lap, I realized that my legs weren’t burning and I wasn’t gasping for breath. What?!? I knew right then and there that I would have a pretty good race.  I didn’t feel particularly fast but rather smooth and in control (I finally lowered my tire pressure!). I crossed the line in 6th (out of 34), and just ~10 seconds behind 5th.

I may have come in 5th twice this year, but this 6th place finish felt SO much better!

Chasing down the top five.

Chasing down the top five.

Leave a Reply

