Four

First up- please excuse the way this post is written. It’s not that I have writer’s block, but I am just not motivated to put my thoughts into writing, if that makes sense.  So with that, I present to you…

FOUR. My little baby bear/snuggle bug/sweet pea is four. Like I’ve said many times…I just can’t believe another year has passed. But here we are.  And to be honest, it’s been pretty smooth. The last year was not one of “terrible threes” so I’m not thinking “Phew! We made it!” or something like that. We’re just plugging away at this whole growing up thing, one step at a time (or in AKA’s case, one huge jump at a time with a twirl thrown in for good measure).

AKA is really a joy to be around. She’s doing exactly what she should be doing at age four- jumping on her bed, playing pretend with stuffed animals, wearing princess dresses, learning stuff, telling fibs, pushing Mom and Dad’s buttons and asking for “just one more” story.   It’s easy to get frustrated with some of these behaviors, and trust me I do, but they’re a part of life and a good teaching opportunity.  And believe me, AKA knows when she’s doing something wrong- a few weeks ago she was standing on a store display and I told her to get down. Her response was “Don’t tell me what to do” and I replied “What did you just say to me?”. She paused, clearing trying to find a way out of the situation and said “Um…I don’t remember.” Damn right she did! Then I told her we’d discuss this in the car and she said “Can we just discuss it right here in the store?”, fully knowing she was about to get a lecture.  Nice try!

I guess the word tomboy  isn’t a good way to describe girls now. So to be PC, AKA is a girl who really likes the outdoors, getting dirty and tinkering. But she’s also into princess dresses and her new Little Mermaid pretend hair styling set. She loves baking too. Maybe “well-rounded” would be a better way to describe her 🙂 To give you a better picture, her birthday toy haul included a Frozen Lego set, an erupting volcano kit, water balloons, new play dresses/costumes and a bike helmet.

Unfortunately (?) a lot of AKA’s play involves me. Something I didn’t realize about having only one child is that the parents are often times the primary playmates. Ugh! To be honest,  I’m not always up for reprising the role of Anna from Frozen on a daily basis. Or playing “jewelry store” ten times in a row. I try to be a trooper, but some days I’m just like…no. LOL.

Well, that’s about it. Now that we’re past the milestones and AKA’s development is more subtle, I don’t have much to share I guess. All I can say is that every day is an adventure for us!

IMG_1476

Deciding on that all-important wish

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

